Workers Compensation Teacher Injury Claims
We have handled workers’ compensation claims for teachers in various counties in North Carolina, and take pride in doing so. Just like employees in any other field, when employees of schools are injured on the job, they are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. However, school employees have special considerations that must be addressed when pursing a workers’ compensation claim.
Generally, the amount of compensation a worker is entitled to receive in workers’ compensation benefits is based upon the average weekly salary that a person received during the prior year. Often this can be computed using simple math - a person’s total annual salary, divided over a 52-week period.
Workers’ Comp Benefits for Teachers
If you are out of work due to an injury on the job, under North Carolina workers’ compensation laws, you will typically receive Temporary Total Disability (TTD) two-thirds of your “average weekly wage.” If you can return to work, but make less money due to the injury, you can receive Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) benefits under North Carolina workers’ compensation law to make up for the shortfall. However, teachers and other school employees are a special group. With lengthy summer vacations, they rarely work 52 weeks out of the year; an average work calendar is more likely to be around 42 weeks per year. Consequently, this issue requires special attention to ensure you are properly compensated.
North Carolina State Employee Workers’ Compensation
North Carolina State employees who are injured on the job are covered under the State’s workers’ compensation self-insurance program. The State or North Carolina is a self-insured employer, which means that the State does not purchase coverage for workers’ compensation, but pays claims as they occur. The State has contracted with a third-party administrator to handle the workers' compensation claims of state employees.
If you are a North Carolina teacher who has suffered a work-related injury or illness, you have a right to workers’ compensation benefits. To start your claim, you must report your injury to your employer and complete a Form 18. Further, to review the North Carolina State Government Workers’ Compensation Employee Handbook: Click Here.
Raleigh Law Firm Charges No Fees Unless We Get Results
We handle workers’ compensation cases for North Carolina teachers on a contingency fee basis. You don’t have to pay any attorney fees unless we get results for you. If you have questions or concerns about your workers’ compensation claim, please contact the North Carolina workers’ compensation lawyers at Hemmings & Stevens, PLLC today. To schedule a free consultation with an attorney to discuss your specific injury, e-mail us or call us at 919.277.0161.